Inicio » Corporate Governance » Board of Directors

Board of Directors


Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is made up of 7 directors, 5 of whom are independent and 2 are proprietary directors.
The profiles of each member of the Board of Directors are detailed below:

5 Independent Directors

Jose Luis del Valle Doblado
Chairman of the Board and Independent Director

Mr. del Valle has extensive experience in the banking and energy sector. From 1988 to 2002 he held various positions with Banco Santander, one of the most relevant financial entities in Spain. In 1999 he was appointed General Manager and Financial Manager of the bank (1999-2002). Subsequently he was Development and Strategy Manager of Iberdrola, one of the main Spanish energy companies (2002-2008), Managing Director of Scottish Power (2007-2008), Strategy and Research Manager of Iberdrola (2008-2010) and Advisor to the Chairman of the aerogenerator manufacturer Gamesa (2011-2012). Currently, Mr. del Valle is Director of the insurance group Ocaso; Director of Abengoa, S.A., which provides innovative technological solutions for sustainable development; Director of Verditek Plc, an investor in clean technologies; and Director of the Instituto de Consejeros-Administradores.

Mr. José Luis is a Mining Engineer from Universidad Politécnica (Madrid, Spain), number one of his class, Master of Science and Nuclear Engineer from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (Boston, USA). Furthermore, Mr. del Valle holds an MBA with high honours from Harvard Business School (Boston, USA).

Pedro Luis Uriarte Santamarina
Independent Director

Mr. Pedro Luis Uriarte, after working in the industrial sector for nine years, from 1975 to 2001 he held various positions with BBVA and subsequently in BBVA, one of the main Spanish Banks, as Chief Executive Director since 1994, and also Vice Chairman thereof. He held the position as Vice Chairman of the Board of Telefónica, leader in the Spanish telecommunications market. In the area of public administration, he was appointed Minister of Economy and Finance of the Basque Government from 1980 to 1984. In 2007, Mr. Uriarte founded and chaired Innobasque, the Basque Innovation Agency, which he headed until 2009. Since then, he has collaborated on a number of different R+D+i initiatives. Currently, he is Chief Executive Officer of the strategy consulting firm Economía, Empresa y Estrategia, and is member of several boards and consulting bodies of other boards of directors of several different companies, both Spanish and international. He was also a Board member of UNICEF Spain.

Mr. Pedro Luis graduated from Universidad de Deusto (Bilbao, Spain) with a degree in business and administration, and is a member of the board of Deusto Business School, and has been honoured with numerous awards such as the “Gran Cruz al Mérito Civil” (Spanish government) in 2002, the Gold Medal of Guipuzkoa in 2005 and the “Directivo del año” award (awarded by the Spanish Confederation of Managers & Executives – CEDE) in 2011.

2 Proprietary Directors

Miguel Pereda Espeso

Proprietary Director

Miguel Pereda Espeso has more than 25 years of experience in the real estate sector. He has served as director of Grupo Lar Inversiones Inmobiliarias, S.A. for more than 10 years, and before this, he was Chief Executive Officer of Lar Grosvenor for 6 years. In 2015, he was appointed Eminent Member of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors (RICS) in London.

Miguel is currently the chairman of Villamagna, S.A., a company belonging to the Grosvenor Group, and he is also chairman of the Altamira Lar foundation.

He has a degree in business administration from the Universidad Complutense (Madrid, Spain), and an MBA from the Instituto de Empresa (IE). He participated in the Breakthrough programme for Senior Executives at the IMD, has a masters in tax from ICADE and participated in the Real Estate Management Programme at Harvard University.

Laurent Luccioni

Proprietary Director

Laurent Luccioni has more than 18 years of experience in the investment and financial services sector. He is currently managing director and portfolio manager at PIMCO’s London Office, where he oversees the European commercial real estate team.

Prior to joining PIMCO in 2013, he was the European CEO for MGPA, the Macquarie-backed private equity real estate investment advisory company. Additionally, he worked with Cherokee Investment Partners in London.

Laurent currently sits on the Board of Directors for Echo Investment, S.A. and Carmila SAS.
He holds an MBA from Kellogg School of Management at Northwestern University, and a doctorate in civil and environmental engineering from the University of California, Berkeley.

Secretary of the Board

Juan Gómez-Acebo

Juan Gomez-Acebo is a practising lawyer with over 30 years of experience. He began his professional career in the Spanish Public Sector where he served as Spanish representative at the Contracts Group for several years, for the international Eurofighter programme.

After working at a Spanish law firm, Juan joined the international law firm Freshfields as a Corporate/Finance lawyer in 1991. In 1995 he was promoted to international partner, becoming Freshfields’ first Spanish partner. In 2000, he was asked to set up Freshfields’ Real Estate Practice Group and up until 30 April 2014, he served as head of the Spanish branch.

Juan is currently the Head of BDO Abogados’ Real Estate Practice in Spain. He has a law degree from the Universidad Autónoma de Madrid and is part of the legal/audit group at the Spanish Ministry of Defence. He holds a diploma from Wharton School for business studies and has participated in a number of legal seminars.

Juan is regularly mentioned by the international legal directories, including Chambers and Legal 500, as a “leading individual” in Spain for Real Estate Law.

Vice-secretary of the Board

Susana Guerrero

Susana Guerrero is the Legal Director of Lar España and Vice-secretary to the Board of Directors of the Company. She joined Lar España in November 2014.

Previously she worked for 10 years as a corporate and M&A lawyer at Uría Menéndez, leading M&A deals and handling the Secretary of the Board in many companies from different sectors.

Susana studied law at the Universidad Complutense in Madrid and has a master’s degree in business law from Instituto de Empresa (IE).

Appointments and Remunerations Committee

  • Roger Maxwell Cooke (Chairman)
  • Alec Emmott (Member)
  • Miguel Pereda Espeso (Member)
  • Laurent Luccioni (Member)
  • Juan Gómez-Acebo Sáenz de Heredia (Secretary)

Audit and Control Committee

  • José Luis del Valle Doblado (Chairman)
  • Pedro Luis Uriarte Santamarina (Member)
  • Isabel Aguilera Navarro (Member)
  • Juan Gómez-Acebo Sáenz de Heredia (Secretary)

Board of directors: remuneration